Online Resources

General Information/Travel Resources/Consumer Newspapers and Magazines

referenceResidential contact information (100 million+) and business/professional listings (14 million+). Find international business data and details about healthcare professionals.

 



newsstand

Web-based full-text 1,000+ newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other fields. You can customize your online newspaper database features, including screen appearance, search options and results format.

 

onefile A one-stop source for news and magazine articles on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images; more than 500 travel guides; NPR transcripts; and thousands of video files of shows like The Today Show and Meet the Press. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995. Updated daily.

 

worldBook

Delivering best-in-class print and digital resources to a new generation of families and educators.

 



academicone
peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of all academic disciplines.




atoz
A to Z World Food






atoz
A to Z World Traveler


Ancestry

ancestrySearch for your ancestor in over 4 billion historical records, covering the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Europe and other countries.  Census records, immigration, wills, military, birth, death, marriage records, newspapers – some linked to images.(In-Library Use Only)



geneaology Includes the how-to of genealogy research in addition to the idiosyncrasies of genealogical research in specific subject areas.



HeritageQuest Online: 

Collection of materials for tracing family history and American culture.  Over 25,000 downloadable family and local history books, U.S. Federal Census Records, Freedman’s Bank Records (1865-1874), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant application files, U.S. Serial Set and PERSI (Periodical Source Index, an index to 6,600 geneology and local history periodical.


Auto Repair

chilton Repair, maintenance and specification tables on thousands of domestic and imported cars and light trucks from 1940 onward.  Videos, photographs and diagrams for the do-it-yourselfer

Business/Legal Forms


legal formsProvides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also includes a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.

Career Resources & Test Prep

career transComprehensive career resource that allows you to search for and track jobs, create targeted resumes and cover letters, practice and master interview techniques, explore and identify career paths according to your interests, experience and what’s in demand, and find schools and education/training programs.


learningexpress Comprehensive, online database of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests. ¬†Includes college and graduate placement tests (ACT, SAT, GRE, MCAD, LSAT), elementary and high school tests (Advanced Placement; High School, Middle School, and Elementary School Skills), career preparation exams (GED, EMS, Firefighter, PPST - Praxis, Civil Service, and reading, math and writing skills practice), TOEFL and U.S. Citizenship Exams

edreferenceTaking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Search thousands of college and graduate school entries and identify scholarships. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

Health & Medicine

Medline: Comprehensive resource from the National Library of Medicine.

History & Biography

biocontext Information on the world's most influential people. Merges authoritative content with magazines and multimedia. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword.


us historyInformation on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Merges authoritative content with images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.


world historyHundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History are profiled. Merges authoritative content with images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Language Learning

powerspeakHighly engaging courses utilize an arsenal of progressive language learning methods. Great for travelers or those just beginning to learn a language. For additional language learning resources, also check our Digital Library for Rocket Languages, an interactive language program with more advanced options.

 

Reading Recommendations/Literature

novelistReading recommendations for both fiction and non-fiction, with a variety of search options, including suggestions on similar titles to read while you’re waiting for that next bestseller.



booksauthors
What Do I Read Next? Find reading recommendations for both fiction and non-fiction, with numerous search options.



litresourceFind up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world

Science

science  Information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Reference resources, along with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Student Resources and Current Issues

gloissuesInternational viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.

kidsinfoMeets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

opposingviews Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news, statistics, images, videos, audio and links to vetted websites in a user-friendly format.


studentresource Information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. Merges authoritative reference content with images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites in a user-friendly format.